Search results

21 items
  1. Corporate vision of the future of food promoted at the UN

    15 February 2016
    Press release

    More than 100 civil society organizations raise alarm about FAO biotechnology meeting

  2. Destructive biofuels and wood-based biomass out of next Renewable Energy Directive say 115 organisations to EU renewables consultation

    10 February 2016
    Press release

    Campaigners say: False solutions to climate change do not cut emissions but damage land and livelihoods in other countries

  3. Move to renewables jeopardized by EU corporate trade deals

    Association Internationale de Techniciens, Experts et Chercheurs (AITEC), Corporate Europe Observatory (CEO), PowerShift, Transnational Institute
    09 December 2015
    Press release
  4. Fisherfolks are Pushing the Solution, Not the Illusion of Blue Carbon

    Riza Damanik
    09 December 2015
    Opinion

    In addition to having a strategic role as a provider of jobs, food needs, and economic sustainability, small-scale fisheries also become an important driver in conserving fish and natural resources through a variety of local knowledge.

  5. The elephant in Paris – the military and greenhouse gas emissions

    Nick Buxton
    25 November 2015
    Opinion

    There is no shortage of words in the latest negotiating document for the UN climate negotiations taking place in Paris at the end of November – 32,731 words to be precise and counting. Yet strangely there is one word you won’t find: military. It’s a strange omission, given that the US military alone is the single largest user of petroleum in the world and has been the main enforcer of the global oil economy for decades.

  6. Degrowth & the Climate Crisis – from a Climate Justice Perspective

    Lyda Fernanda Forero
    05 August 2015
    Opinion

    From a climate justice perspective, which is more than a technical approach, we are facing a political and paradigm-related dilemma. From this perspective, we focus on the root causes of the climate crisis from where we propose real solutions while rejecting and demanding an end to false solutions.

  7. Thumbnail

    Anglo American's negative influence on climate policies exposed

    03 December 2014
    Press release

    Multinational corporations such as Anglo American undermine crucial climate policies and promote false solutions, which allow them to profit from the climate crisis, according to a new report released 8 December during the UN climate talks.

     
  8. Thumbnail

    One year after Trade Agreement with Colombia is implemented, EU remains silent

    07 August 2014
    Press release

    Despite promises made during the negotiation process, the multiparty trade agreement between the EU, Colombia and Peru has not helped to improve the living conditions of the Colombian population. On the contrary, conflicts linked to export sectors and EU investment have continued and, in some cases, worsened.

  9. New report reveals how the EU-US trade deal risks expanding fracking

    06 March 2014
    Press release

    A trade deal between the EU and the US risks opening the backdoor for the expansion of fracking in Europe and the US, reveals a new report released today (Thursday, March 6) [1].

  10. Corporate capture of UN climate talks

    08 November 2013
    Press release

    TNI and more than 135 groups internationally have condemned Poland and EU for facilitating a corporate takeover of UN climate talks starting 11 October in Warsaw.

  11. Thumbnail

    Europe cannot drill its way to a low-carbon economy, say climate justice groups

    21 May 2013
    Press release

    The European Union (EU) and their national governments are set to discuss increased shale gas extraction in Europe which will increase environmental and social harm as well as dangerous climate change.

  12. Mirjam van Reisen benoemd tot nieuw bestuurslid Adviesraad Internationale Vraagstukken (AIV)

    03 May 2013
    Press release

    Net voor haar abdicatie heeft Koningin Beatrix Prof. Dr. Mirjam van Reisen beëdigd als bestuurslid Adviesraad Internationale Vraagstukken (AIV) en daarbinnen voorzitter Commissie Ontwikkelingssamenwerking; het instituut dat de regering en de Staten-Generaal adviseert over het buitenlandse beleid.

  13. NGO report busts the myths of the Emissions Trading Scheme

    12 April 2013
    Press release

    The European Parliament votes tomorrow (April 16) on the European Commission's proposal to backload 900 million emissions permits within the EU Emissions Trading Scheme (EU ETS).

     
  14. Time the EU scraps its failed carbon Emissions Trading System

    19 February 2013
    Press release

    TNI has joined over 90 organisations and movements in calling on the EU to scrap its failed Emissions Trading System (ETS) and implement urgent effective measures to reduce greenhouse gas emisions.

  15. Thumbnail

    Land, Seas and Territories to feed our Dignity and the Peoples of the World

    05 March 2012
    Press release

    On 5 and 9 March press conferences will be held during the last round of the international negotiations on land at FAO: The mobilization of social organizations and Italian NGOs.

     
  16. Thumbnail

    Global alliances announce they will protest 15 years of failed climate negotiations with mass non-violent civil disobedience

    15 December 2009
    Press release

    Civil society groups inside and outside the COP process issue call to unite in “Peoples’ Assembly” to demand real solutions to the climate crisis

  17. Thumbnail

    New book uncovers carbon trading flaws ahead of UN climate talks

    24 November 2009
    Press release

    At a time when Copenhagen talks and the Kyoto Protocol seem likely to end in failure, calling for an entirely different framework for addressing the climate crisis may seem like madness. Carbon Trading: How it works and why it fails produced by the Transnational Institute's Carbon Trade Watch Project, is sure to change your mind.

  18. Thumbnail

    Rethinking the US stimulus package

    Barry K Gills
    11 November 2009
    Opinion

    The failure of the US administration to adopt a truly Keynesian package for stimulating the US economy is likely to lead to further crisis and misses the opportunity to transition to a green economy.

Pages