Search results

98 items
  1. UN and WEF Sign MOU on Strategic Partnership Framework

    UN signs deal with Davos that threatens democratic principles

    Harris Gleckman
    03 July 2019
    Opinion

    A global corporate and government marriage took place last week – and governments and citizens were not even invited as guests.

  2. Our Oceans need a different approach

    Zoe Brent, Mads Barbesgaard, Carsten Pedersen
    24 October 2019
    Opinion

    Delegates to the Our Oceans conference are gathering to discuss ocean sustainability, but there’s a big problem: their proposals will only sanitize continued resource extraction and environmental and ecological degradation.

  3. Thumbnail

    Protect people's lands, water and forests

    11 October 2011
    Declaration

     CSOs remind all governments of their immense responsibilities in reaching an agreement on one of the most pressing issues of our time.

  4. Degrowth & the Climate Crisis – from a Climate Justice Perspective

    Lyda Fernanda Forero
    05 August 2015
    Opinion

    From a climate justice perspective, which is more than a technical approach, we are facing a political and paradigm-related dilemma. From this perspective, we focus on the root causes of the climate crisis from where we propose real solutions while rejecting and demanding an end to false solutions.

  5. The Transnational Institute supports the Global Climate Strike

    24 September 2019
    Declaration

    The climate crisis is a manifestation of the systemic, capitalist crisis. We demand governments tackle the climate crisis by ending corporate power, facilitated by the trade and investment regime, that has long destroyed livelihoods and communities.

    This corporate impunity has led to the wholesale looting of the biosphere, authoritarian responses and worsening social, political and environmental conflicts, particularly in the Global South.

  6. Transnational Institute’s Drugs & Democracy Programme Team

    World Drug Day 2019

    26 June 2019
    Declaration

    Today marks the United Nations’ International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit Trafficking. Its origin can be traced back to the institutional architecture of the global drug control system which for the last five decades has served as a mechanism that regulates, controls, or prohibits the use and distribution of more than 300 psychoactive substances.

  7. Thumbnail

    Rethinking the US stimulus package

    Barry K Gills
    11 November 2009
    Opinion

    The failure of the US administration to adopt a truly Keynesian package for stimulating the US economy is likely to lead to further crisis and misses the opportunity to transition to a green economy.

  8. Image of UN Flag

    Re-visioning global governance: constraining the power of MNCs

    Harris Gleckman
    13 April 2016
    Opinion

    Multinational corporations (MNCs) have eclipsed nation-states in their power and ability to set the international agenda. Four options for controlling corporate dominance over global governance.  

  9. Statement from the 7th Myanmar Opium Farmers' Forum

    Myanmar Opium Farmers Forum (MOFF)
    10 May 2019
    Declaration

    During 8-10 May 2019, representatives from Kayan, Kayah, Pa-O, Shan, Lahu and Kachin opium farming communities came together to discuss their challenges in life and find ways to solve their problems.

  10. National Capital Integrated Coastal Development (NCICD) project in Jakarta Bay

    07 December 2016
    Opinion

    A Dutch economic trade mission visited Indonesia from the 21st to the 24th of November.  Prime Minister Mark Rutte, who heads the mission, is accompanied by Minister Ploumen (Foreign Trade and Development), Minister Schultz van Haegen and State Secretary Dijksma (Infrastructure and Environment).

  11. Fisherfolks are Pushing the Solution, Not the Illusion of Blue Carbon

    Riza Damanik
    09 December 2015
    Opinion

    In addition to having a strategic role as a provider of jobs, food needs, and economic sustainability, small-scale fisheries also become an important driver in conserving fish and natural resources through a variety of local knowledge.

  12. AIDS 2012 – Time for courage if we are going to turn the tide

    Ann Fordham
    01 August 2012
    Opinion

    As a participant at last week’s 19th International HIV/AIDS Conference, I was reminded of President Fernando Henrique Cardoso’s and UNDP Administrator Helen Clark’s call to arms earlier in July that there is a new prescription for the AIDS response: ‘courage is needed’.

  13. More than 500 civil society organisations from Myanmar express their concerns about the Investment Protection Agreement with the EU

    14 January 2016
    Declaration

    518 organizations from MATA Myanmar Alliance on Transparency and Accountability and 53 organizations from Lands in Our Hand network and various other civil society organizations express their concerns about investment protection in the EU-Myanmar Agreement.

  14. Forward Motion against the Headwinds?

    David Sogge
    04 July 2018
    Opinion

    How do academics and researchers size up global goals to boost wellbeing worldwide?

  15. Open letter to UN-HABITAT

    Satoko Kishimoto
    18 September 2017
    Opinion

    Civil society organisations, trade unions, public water operators together with International Steering committee members of GWOPA jointly send the open letter  to the Executive Director of UN-HABITAT concerning the recent attempt to undermine GWOPA's core purpose, origin and history 

  16. Open Letter: Threats in Colombia: Serious Concern regarding lack of guarantees

    15 October 2015
    Declaration

    Although there is talk of peace, there are no safeguards for the activities of the social organisations that are working to defend social rights and to oppose an economic model that is deepening inequality and that violates fundamental rights.

  17. Civil society response to FMO and Finnfund decision to suspend loans to Agua Zarca project

    17 March 2016
    Declaration

    We welcome the announcement of FMO that it will suspend all its activities in Honduras, including further disbursements of the loan for the Agua Zarca project, following the brutal murder of Nelson Garcia, member of COPINH. We wish to reiterate our demand to FMO, Finnfund and CABEI that  after years of ongoing violence and intimidation in relation to the project, they fully and permanently withdraw from the project.

  18. Thumbnail

    To reject REDD+ and Extractive Industries to confront Capitalism and defend Life and Territories

    08 December 2014
    Declaration

    On the occasion of the UN climate change negotiations in Lima, Peru – known as COP20 – we reaffirm that rejecting REDD+ and ‘environmental services’, two manifestations of the so-­‐called ‘green economy’, is a central part of our struggle against capitalism and extractive industries and the defence of territories, life and Mother Earth.

Pages