Search results

98 items
  1. The Vienna Declaration

    29 June 2010
    Declaration

    The Vienna Declaration is a statement seeking to improve community health and safety by calling for the incorporation of scientific evidence into illicit drug policies. We are inviting scientists, health practitioners and the public to endorse this document in order to bring these issues to the attention of governments and international agencies, and to illustrate that drug policy reform is a matter of urgent international significance. We also welcome organizational endorsements.

     

  2. Valencia Declaration on Alternative Development

    09 November 2012
    Declaration

    Producers of crops declared illicit, such as opium, coca and cannabis, from throughout the world convened at the Observatory of Crops Declared Illicit (OCDI) in Valencia (Spain)

  3. The Heemskerk Declaration

    25 January 2016
    Declaration

    In a global meeting small scale farmers of cannabis, coca and opium from 14 countries discussed their contribution to the United Nations General Assembly Special Session (UNGASS). The UNGASS will discuss all aspects of global drug control policies, including the worldwide ban on the cultivation of coca, poppy and cannabis, an issue the Global Farmers Forum demands that their voices be heard and taken into account.

  4. Declaration first global forum of producers of crops declared to be illicit

    09 October 2009
    Declaration

    Producers of coca leaves, cannabis and opium poppy from Latin America and the Caribbean, Africa and Asia and experts and NGO representatives gathered at the first world forum in Barcelona, Spain from January 29 to 31, 2009 in Barcelona, Spain. The forum provided a space for sharing experiences and reflecting on ways to protect the human rights of affected communities and promote alternative models of sustainable development. 

  5. Final Declaration 9th Asia- Europe People’s Forum

    23 October 2012
    Declaration

    Over 1,000 women and men, representing people’s organisations and citizens from Asia and Europe joined together at the 9th Asia Europe People’s Forum under the title “People’s Solidarity against Poverty and for Sustainable Development: Challenging Unjust and Unequal Development, Building States of Citizens for
    Citizens”

  6. For A European Spring

    14 February 2013
    Declaration

    TNI is joining hundreds of organisations to call for a 'European Spring' against austerity and anti-democratic EU policies. The call for action seeks to put pressure on the EU Council Spring summit that meets in Brussels on 14-15 March 2013.

  7. Our Democracy instead of Their Austerity

    13 November 2012
    Declaration

    We call for a European permanent mobilization to support the fights against the crisis and build a future for everyone in Europe and in the world.

  8. Grounding of Bolivian presidential jet and treatment of Snowden shames European Union

    05 July 2013
    Declaration

    Over 50 international lawyers, human rights, civil rights and civil society groups and networks say the actions of certain EU member states in response to Snowden's revelations contradict the EU’s stated commitment to democracy, human rights and international law.

  9. Into the breach: Drugs, control, and violating bad laws in good ways

    Rick Lines
    27 November 2014
    Opinion

    An October statement on drug control from the US State Department has prompted much comment and speculation at home and abroad. Delivered by Ambassador William Brownfield, the ‘Brownfield Doctrine’, as it has been named by some commentators, lays out a four pillar approach the United States will follow in matters of international drug control.

  10. Thumbnail

    Protect people's lands, water and forests

    11 October 2011
    Declaration

     CSOs remind all governments of their immense responsibilities in reaching an agreement on one of the most pressing issues of our time.

  11. Towards a Just and Inclusive Asia and Europe

    14 October 2014
    Declaration

    The 10th Asia Europe People’s Forum (AEPF10) tackled five major themes, or People’s Visions, which represent AEPF’s hopes for citizens of the ASEM member countries and the communities they live in. This is their final declaration.

  12. Our Oceans need a different approach

    Zoe Brent, Mads Barbesgaard, Carsten Pedersen
    24 October 2019
    Opinion

    Delegates to the Our Oceans conference are gathering to discuss ocean sustainability, but there’s a big problem: their proposals will only sanitize continued resource extraction and environmental and ecological degradation.

  13. Image of UN Flag

    Re-visioning global governance: constraining the power of MNCs

    Harris Gleckman
    13 April 2016
    Opinion

    Multinational corporations (MNCs) have eclipsed nation-states in their power and ability to set the international agenda. Four options for controlling corporate dominance over global governance.  

  14. The ketamine controversy, continued

    Martin Jelsma
    06 March 2015
    Opinion

    The Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND) in Vienna will decide next week between two opposite proposals by China and the WHO about international control of ketamine, an essential anaesthetic in human and veterinary medicine. China originally proposed bringing ketamine under the 1971 Convention’s most severe control regime of Schedule I, which would dramatically affect its availability for surgery in poor rural settings and emergency situations. The WHO Expert Committee reviewed all the evidence and advised against any international control of ketamine, arguing it would trigger a public health disaster.

  15. Joint Statement: Binding International Instrument

    10 December 2013
    Declaration

    Call for an international legally binding instrument on human rights, transnational corporations and other business enterprises

  16. Countering illicit drug traffic and supply, and alternative development

    Martin Jelsma, TNI statement
    12 March 2009
    Declaration

    TNI statement at the Commission on Narcotic Drugs 52nd Session, High-level Segment Round Table D - 12 March 2009, 2.30-5.30 pm

  17. Peoples Agreement

    28 April 2010
    Declaration

    Final declaration of the World People’s Conference on Climate Change and the Rights of Mother Earth (Cochabamba, 19-22 April 2010).

  18. Degrowth & the Climate Crisis – from a Climate Justice Perspective

    Lyda Fernanda Forero
    05 August 2015
    Opinion

    From a climate justice perspective, which is more than a technical approach, we are facing a political and paradigm-related dilemma. From this perspective, we focus on the root causes of the climate crisis from where we propose real solutions while rejecting and demanding an end to false solutions.

Pages